DeGarmo, Wernli named scholar-athletes

Charles Chaney
Butler County Times Gazette

Andover Central’s Trey DeGarmo and El Dorado’s Kai Wernli were selected as Kansas National Football Foundation scholar-athletes by the Bill Snyder Family/Sunflower Chapter, as two of eight student-athletes chosen.

The Kansas National Football Foundation selected DeGarmo and Wernli off the recommendations of their coaches.

Those selected for a Scholar-Athlete are recognized for their excellence in academics, football and community leadership as selected by the chapter board of directors.

“This is another outstanding group of young men that we recognize for their work in the classroom, in the community and on the playing field,” Chapter President Gerry McGuire said. “These individuals are our leaders of tomorrow, so we take pride in helping them advance their education as they enter the next chapter of their lives.”

Both players were nominated by their head coaches, Derek Tuttle of Andover Central and Wes Bell of El Dorado.

Nominated alongside DeGarmo and Wernli is William Deschamp (St. Thomas Aquinas), Tyler Green (Mill Valley), Collin Koester (Conway Springs), Max Kalny (St. James Academy), Ethan McMillian (Bishop Carroll) and Ryland Miller (Shawnee Mission North).

“He [DeGarmo] had a lot of qualities any high school coach loves about a senior leader,“ Tuttle said. ”What he brought to our team and what he has brought to our community has been outstanding, in terms of dedication to school and faith and spirituality, too.“

“He’s the guy that first came to mind to me,” Bell said. “He’s really really sharp and done a lot of stuff in the community. It was kind of a no-brainer to me.”

Each of the state National Football Foundation chapters nominates an individual for the NFF’s Team of Distinction. Kalny, who will be a preferred walk-on at Stanford this fall, was selected as the Kansas Scholar-Athlete for the NFF Team of Distinction.

This year, The Sunflower Chapter was renamed the Coach Bill Snyder Family Sunflower Chapter. It’s mission is to recognize outstanding high school seniors who excel on the gridiron, in the classroom and as leaders in their schools and communities.

More than 300 high school football players from the state of Kansas have been honored by the chapter since its inception in 1991. Dillon’s Food Stores, which maintains a large presence in the state of Kansas, sponsors the chapter awards program and banquet.