As low as $3 for 3 months
As low as $3 for 3 months

Butler Community College celebrates 2020 graduates, awards honors during virtual ceremony

Staff Writer
Butler County Times Gazette
Butler County Times Gazette

Butler Community College celebrates 2020 graduates, awards honors during virtual ceremony

Hubbard Award recipient, Order of the Gold, Order of the Purple announced

Butler Community College celebrated its 93rd commencement in a new way under the circumstances of the pandemic.

Watch the online-streamed commencement here:

Jim Howell, Butler Board of Trustees Chairman, said it best, “who would have thought that ‘Zoom’ meant something other than driving fast in your car?”

Graduating nearly 550 students and more than 80 Early College Academy students, Butler persevered through the sudden changes that arose in the 2020 spring semester.

Butler’s President, Dr. Kim Krull, stated that “it is a privilege to be on this unplanned journey with such an outstanding group of students.”

For the 35th year, the Butler Foundation gave away The Hubbard Award of Excellence. This award is a $15,000 scholarship to a transfer school of choice granted to an honorable and deserving graduate. President-elect of Butler’s Foundation, Rod Young, presented the Hubbard Award of Excellence to Alanis Balza of Maize. While at Butler, Balza was involved in the Butler Headliners, Butler Noteables, Grizzly Ambassadors, Catholic Grizzlies, and was the president of Collegiate National Association of Music Educators. Balza was on the President’s Honor Roll and plans to transfer to Emporia State University to continue her music education degree.

The remaining four finalists will receive a $500 scholarship to the transfer school of their choice. Those finalists include Bailey Baker of Marion, Hannah Becker of Wichita, Kylie Litavniks of Andover, and Summer Scharenberg of Wichita.

Area students honored are listed below.

The three lists, in order, are Order of the Gold, Order of the Purple, and the remaining 2020 Graduates. Order of the Gold represents graduates who maintained a 4.0 GPA and Order of the Purple represents graduates who maintained a 3.5-3.9 GPA.

Order of the Gold


Litavniks, Kylie


Childers, Makenzie

Johnston, Sophie

El Dorado

Chanvannasee, Southatta

Rose Hill

Korte, Caitlyn

Order of the Purple


Cook, Deborah

Hodgens, Mikala

Wenant, Elisabeth


Bright, Brianna

Foy, Madison

Hoyt, Nathan

Locke, Kyle

McGaha, Kaitlynn

Rinkenbaugh, Samuel

Wright, Hanna


Wasson, Isaiah

El Dorado

Bonomini, Dante

Hanks, Ethan

Kabutu, Yasmine

Koontz, Emily

Liggett, Kayla

Martinez, Gloria

McGee, Amanda

Scanlon, Sydney

Shum, Gretchen

Sullivan, Sidney

Rose Hill

Barlett, Taylor


Winningham, Evan


Garcia, Gonzalo


Brazell, Daniel

All Other Graduates


Ali, Ruaa

Barr, Jadyn

Bender, Daniele

Conard, Easton

Cooper, MiKayla

Crafton, Crystal

Edwards, Alexis

Hamilton, Andre

Hopkins, Shanna

Huber, Zachary

Hunter, Jaden

Johnson, Kattie

Knoblauch, Alex

Lessard, Sherri

Linn, Timothy

Manon, Connie

Martinez, Emilie

McKenzie, Julia

Rathod, Vanita

Showalter, Nicholas

Stover, Lauren


Allen, Grace

Baker, Mariah

Burnham, Trenton

Cunningham, Hunter

Gorton, Nichole

Hillis, Emily

Howell, Jace

Huff, Mikayla

Jansen, Matthew

Johnson, Cole

Jones, Ashley

Moore, Josh

Moore, Tatum

Mosier, Kolbe

Palmer, Colton

Peacock, Haley

Prentice, Ashley

Roberts, James

Stark, Marissa

Todd, Austin

Trumpower Garner, Brittany

Weir, Kayla

Winzer, Faith


Hoover, McKayla

Hoyt, Emma

Leis, Christian

Moore, Landon

Morgan, Chad

Perry, Zac

Vargas, Jessica


Scott, Thomas


Alexander, Jenna

Carr, Johna

Dunham, Kaden

Peck, Josef

Puckett, Nicole

Swigart, Gratya

El Dorado

Arnold, Nathaniel

Bassford, Adriene

Bell, Jordan

Chabot, Makayla

Detlefsen, Connor

Duryea, Peyton

Griffith, Chelsea

Hayes, Makenna

Hoyt, Natalie

Jorrick Jr, Michael

Kellogg, Charles

Kermode, Taylor

Kissel, Ian

Lawrence, Delaney

May, Michaela

McAdoo, Jaden

McGee, Abigail

Melugin, Kolton

Middleton, Drake

Mitchell, MaKalee

Sollers, Spencer

Stephens, Skylur

Taylor, Schyler

Tillman, Natoshia

Trier, Ellie

VanKleeck, Jonnie

Wise, Wesley


Duncan, Cole

Rose Hill

Beason, Ethan

Bischler, Braden

Chickadonz, Jayden

Futhey, Annie

Jordan, Sarah

Lee, Haley

Neises, Rose

Neuhaus, Jason

Parks, Heather

Riisoe, Clayton

Rose, Mekenzie

Sommerhauser, Joseph

Tipton, Calli


Hepburn, Silvia

Johnson, James

Sartin, Brian

Schmitt, Codi