Hughey wins sheriff’s race

Chad Frey

It would appear that Monty Lee Hughey will be the next Sheriff of Butler County, picking up a primary election victory over Jay Sharp and Rob Chandler.

Hughey was the top vote getter on election day, grabbing 5,008 votes. Sharp, who had been endorsed by current sheriff Kelly Herzet, finished second at 4,256.

“As Sheriff, I will promise you my proven integrity, true compassion for our community, my vision on continuing to better the Sheriff’s Office, and my life if there is no other way of protecting you. I will give you that,” Hughley said. “We will continue to work hard for the safety of the citizens of Butler County with the utmost professionalism from the men and women of Butler County Sheriff’s Office. It’s all about the citizens, not about me,”

There is not a Democrat running in the general election. Kelly Herzet will retire at the end of his current term. Herzet was unopposed in the primary for the Butler County Commission District three seat, and will also be unopposed in the general election.

Hughey is a current sheriff’s deputy and a life-long Butler County resident. He started his career in law enforcement as a reserve, and became deputy sheriff in 1996 under forer Sheriff Dave Williams.

He has served as a patrol officer and supervisor, team leader for SWAT, and been a task force officer for the Federal Bureau of Investigations. He has spent much of his career as a detective for the investigations division.

Outside of law enforcement he has served eight years on the USD 490 Board of Education and coached youth sports.

Hugey announced during his campaign that Daimon Cundiff, a member of the Andover Police Department, will be undersheriff and retired Wichita Police Department Lieutenant Walker Andrews will be named Captain of the Butler County Sheriff’s Department.

Butler County voters mirrored the state of Kansas in the primary race for U.S. Senator — with Roger Marshall defeating Kris Kobach (5,208 to 3,140) and nine others for the nomination. Marshall will face Democrat Barbara Bollier in the general election. The winner will replace Pat Roberts (R-Kan) who is retiring.

Butler County also mirrored the overall results of the State Senator District 14 race, giving the nomination to Michael A. Fagg over Bruce Givens (3,095 to 2,010 in Butler County). Fagg will be unopposed in the general election. In the Kans State Representative District 85 race, the county mirrored the state in giving Patrick Penn the GOP nomination over Michael Capps. Penn will face democrat Marcy Gregory in the general election.

Chad M. Crm won the GOP district court judge race for position 4 with 4,311 votes. Terrence Huelskamp was second at 3,595 with Kristin Hutchinson (1,315) third and James Watts fourth (1,921)