ANDOVER, KANSAS – Three weeks ago the Jaguars received a scare. Goddard took them to overtime on their own floor. Fast forward and Andover Central wasted no time in dispatching of the Lions as they make the Class 5A State Tournament for the first time since the 2013-14 season.

“It was critical to be focused and disciplined to the very end,” Andover junior Bailey Wilborn said. “Because we knew they were fully capable of coming back and doing damage.”

Andover Central won their 20th consecutive game and kept the Lions from doing any damage in their 55-27 over Goddard in their Class 5A sub-state Championship Game on Saturday night.

“I’m very happy for my girls,” Andover Central head coach Stana Jefferson said. “They’ve worked hard to get to this point.”

The previous two games between Central and Goddard were decided by a total of seven points. After only leading 24-15 at the break, the Jaguars used a large third quarter to give them the space they needed for once against Goddard. Four different players drained a three and Central outscored the Lions 16-5 in the third.

“We kept playing tight, focused, and as a team,” Wilborn said. “No matter what happened, we made sure to always be positive and support each other.”

Three different Jaguars scored in double figures with Wilborn leading all scorers with 13 points. Brittany Harshaw had 12 points and Ellie Stearns scored 11 points.

Jordan Newfarmer added eight as well, with two big three-pointers for the Andover Central.

Kade Hackerott led Goddard with eight points, going 6-of-8 at the free throw line.

Andover Central will head to Emporia as the No. 2 seed in the Class 5A State Tournament behind No. 1 McPherson. They’ll play in the first round against most likely Maize on Thursday.

“We will roll with whatever we are given,” Wilborn said. “We try to focus on one game at a time.”

Goddard – 7; 8; 5; 7; – 27

And. Cen. – 15; 9; 16; 15; – 55

Goddard: Kade Hackerott 8, Sullivan 7, Wscilo 6, Nunez 3, A. Scoggin 2, B. Scoggin 1

AC: Wilborn 13, Harshaw 12, Stearns 11, Newfarmer 8, Wheatley 6, Amekporfor 5