HALSTEAD — The Douglass Bulldog boys’ wrestling team won the 50th annual Halstead Inivitational Saturday in Halstead.

Douglass edged Minneapolis for the team title 139-134.5. Wellington was third at 113, followed by Hesston at 110 and Halstead at 104. Remington was ninth at 73. There were 22 teams in competition.

Douglass claimed two individual titles — Matt Reynolds at 138 pounds and Jace High at 170 pounds.

Hesston had no titles, but claimed two runners-up — Jason Hecht at 138 pounds and heavyweight Ethan Parrott. Other medalists were Malachi Holmes in fourth at 152, Domanic Clopton in fourth at 182, Owen O’Halloran in fifth at 195 pounds, Cody Wohlgemuth in sixth at 170 and Nathan Whitsitt in sixth at 220 pounds.

Other Hesston wrestlers were Garrett Slater, who was 0-2 at 145; Tyrone Taylor, who was 0-2 at 160; Hayden Hartung, who was 0-2 at 170; and Dalton Carey, who was 0-2 at 195.

“Friday’s weather caused the tournament to be compressed into one day, which made for a long day on Saturday,” Hesston coach Doug Broadfoot said. “Overall, we wrested well and got another top-five finish in a really large tournament. We were disappointed we won just one of our medal matches, so obviously we need to work on finishing competitions consistently strong. Owen O’Halloran did win his medal match by avenging an early-season loss to a Cheney wrestler by dominating on his feet and scoring multiple takedowns.”

Halstead’s top finisher was Kaden Kraus, who was second at 170 pounds. Kaden Lopez was third at 195 pounds. Gabe Brown was third at heavyweight. Carter Hiebert was fourth at 160 pounds. Skyler Geer was fifth at 120 pounds.

Other Halstead wrestlers were Patrick Mueller (2-2, 138), Ivan Guiterrez (2-2, 152), Braedon Alverson (0-2, 152), Alex Schulte (0-2, 170) and Marcus Elam (2-2, 220).

Remington was led by Wyatt Wright, who pinned Mason Scholz of Atchison County in the third period to win the title at 120 pounds. Hagen Taylor was second at 160 pounds. Owen Thiel was third at 152 pounds.

Other Remington wrestlers were Grayson Graber (2-2, 126) and Sheridan Graber (0-2, 132).

Halstead competes in a dual at 3:30 p.m. Tuesday Nickerson. Hesston hosts Herington, Cheney and Halstead at 5:30 p.m. Jan. 28. Remington competes Saturday at the Eureka Invitational.

50th Halstead Invitational


Team scores — Douglass 139, Minneapolis 1345., Wellington 113, Hesston 110, Halstead 104, Hillsboro 95, Ellsworth 875., Atchinson County 865., Remington 73, Chaparral 71, Cheney 695., Herington 68, Lyons 67, Chase County 59, Marion 59, Southeast of Saline 525., Garden Plain 51, Flinthills 17, Wichita Trinity Academy 165., Circle 15, Bluestem 14, Central of Burden 12.

Medal rounds

106 (round robin) — 1. Gage Carlson (Minneapolis) 5-0; 2. Colby Lollar (Herington) 4-1; 3. Teagon Nienke (Ellsworth) 3-2; 4. Wyatt Hook (Lyons) 2-3; 5. Logan Albers (Garden Plain) 1-4; 6. Hunter Norris (Wellington) 0-5.

113 — Championship: Brennan Cantrell (Wellington) pinned Ahsten Danner (Lyons) 3:29. Third: Jensen Hoeme (Cheney) pinned Landon Brown (Atchison County) :43. Fifth: Forest Slater (Marion) dec. Jamison Richie (Minneapolis) 10-7.

120 — Championship: Wyatt Wright (Remington) pinned Mason Scholz (Atchison County) 4:34. Third: Dominic Davis (Lyons) def. Cadian Hamilton (Wellington) bye. Fifth: Skyler Geer (Halstead) dec. Trenton Braucher (Herington) 5-0.

126 — Championship: Joseph Ord (Chaparral) dec. Trint Rogers (Chase County 8-5. Third: Zacharias Lough (Douglass) pinned Adam Reed (Minneapolis) 1:56. Fifth: Matt Swingle (Cheney) def. Tucker Travnichek (Flinthills) medical forfeit.

132 — Championship: Dayton Randell (Minneapolis) pinned Devon Smith (Wellington) 1:43. Third: Brian Escobar (Chaparral) def. Garrett Helmer (Hillsboro) forfeit.. Fifth: Ayden Lawrenz (Herington) def. John Heuer (Wichita Trinity Academy) forfeit.

138 — Championship: Matthew Reynolds (Douglass) dec. Jason Hecht (Hesston) 10-3. Third: Jarrett Angle (Chaparral) dec. Ryder Norstrom (Hillsboro) 4-0. Fifth: Nathan Hoffner (Marion) def. Gabe Gordon (Garden Plain) bye.

145 — Championship: Colby Schreiner (Cheney) dec. Colby Smith (Atchison County) 10-5. Third: Jordan Bachman (Hillsboro) pinned Francis Stuhlsatz (Garden Plain) 1:14. Fifth: Tre Karagianis (Douglass) def. Mitch Budke (Chase County) forfeit.

152 — Championship: Tristan Rathbone (Hillsboro) pinned Colton Scholz (Atchison County) :22. Third: Owen Thiel (Remington) dec. Malachi Holmes (Hesston) 4-3. Fifth: Jeb Nowak (Garden Plain) def. Teagen Daerr (Garden Plain) forfeit.

160 — Championship: Matthew Rodriguez (Southeast of Saline) dec. Hagen Taylor (Remington) 6-1. Third: Chasyn Vogan (Minneapolis) dec. Carter Hiebert (Halstead) 10-8. Fifth: Dalton Hilyard (Douglass) pinned Andre Patton (Hillsboro) 5:20.

170 — Championship: Jace High (Douglass) dec. Kaden Kraus (Halstead) 1-0. Third: Wade Morgan (Douglass) pinned Cael Budke (Chase County) 4:14. Fifth: Luke Lanning (Marion) pinned Cody Wohlgemuth (Hesston) 3:11.

182 — Championship: Todd Palic (Marion) pinned Keyon Baccus (Minneapolis) 3:43. Third: Charles Pearson (Douglass) dec. Domanic Clopton (Hesston) 7-2. Fifth: Rylan Rose (Circle) dec. Jonathan McAmis (Leon-Bluestem) 5-1.

195 — Championship: Kanden Young (Wellington) dec. Sterling Harp (Southeast of Saline) 5-1. Third: Kaden Lopez (Halstead) def. Tyler Romero (Ellsworth) bye. Fifth: Owen O’Halloran (Hesston) maj.dec. Davontae Black (Cheney) 14-4.

220 — Championship: Jr. Matthews (Herington) dec. Kenny Fehrman (Wellington) 2-1. Third: Brendan Tripp (Ellsworth) pinned Joseph Martin (Douglass) 2:17. Fifth: Dylan Helbing (Burden-Central) maj.dec. Nathan Whitsitt (Hesston) 16-8.

HWT — Championship: Tyler Walford (Ellsworth) pinned Ethan Parrott (Hesston) 1:57. Third: Gabe Brown (Halstead) pinned Braiden Schwerdtfeger (Lyons) 1:51. Fifth: Bryce Worlock (Minneapolis) pinned Luke McComb (Wellington) 1:31.