The Kansas State High School Activities Association has released the updated classifications for 2018-19. These classifications include all sports except football.

Andover Central is the only Butler County high school that is switching classifications. The Jaguars will go from one of the biggest 4A schools last year, to the smallest 5A school in the state at 748 students. 2017-18 was a phenomenal year for Andover Central athletics, with many teams bringing home state trophies. The Jaguar boys golf team brought home a state championship. Both boys and girls cross country teams finished second in 4A. The boys soccer team and the wrestling team also finished as the 4A runner-up. The baseball team placed third, and the boys basketball team finished fourth at the state tournament.

Andover is also on the smaller end of 5A with 836 students. Only seven of the 36 5A schools have fewer students.

Augusta is now the fourth biggest 4A school with 649 students, while Circle is tenth with 576. El Dorado is the 13th largest with 546.

Douglass remains in 3A with 215 students, and Bluestem will continue to compete in 2A with 144.

Out of 117 schools in class 1A, Flinthills is the 19th-biggest with 93.

School classification changes with enrollment ranges are as follows: [Last year’s (2017-2018) classification is shown in parenthesis.]

6A - 36 schools - Range: 2495 - 1320

Schools changing class: Kansas City-Wyandotte (5A), Leavenworth (5A), Liberal (5A), Olathe West (5A), Shawnee-Mill Valley (5A).

5A - 36 schools - Range: 1313 - 748

Schools changing class: Andover Central (4A), Arkansas City (4A), Basehor-Linwood (4A), Bonner Springs (4A) Hays (4A) Kansas City-Sumner Academy (4A), McPherson (4A), Spring Hill (4A), Wichi­ta-Northwest (6A)

4A - 36 schools - Range: 679 - 317

Schools changing class: NA

3A - 64 schools - Range: 315 - 174

Schools changing class: Baxter Springs (4A), Burlington (4A), Clay Center Community (4A), Columbus (4A), Concordia (4A), Frontenac (4A), Galena (4A), Girard (4A), Holcomb (4A,) Holton (4A), Hugoton (4A), Kansas City-Bishop Ward (4A), LaCygne-Prairie View (4A), Larned (4A), Lindsborg-Smoky Valley (4A), Marysville (4A), Meriden-Jefferson West (4A), Santa Fe Trail (4A), St. George-Rock Creek (4A), Wichita-Collegiate (4A).

2A - 64 schools - Range: 172 - 105

Schools changing class: Arma-Northeast (3A), Cherokee-Southeast (3A), Conway Springs (3A), Effingham-ACCHS (3A), Ellsworth (3A), Eskridge-Mission Valley (3A), Garden Plain (3A), Horton (3A), Hutchinson-Trinity Catholic (3A), Humboldt (3A), Lakin (3A), McLouth (3A), Mound City-Jayhawk Linn (3A), Oskaloosa (3A), Richmond-Central Heights (3A), Rossville (3A), Sedgwick (3A), Sterling (3A), Whitewater-Remington (3A), Wichita-The Independent (3A).

1A - 117 schools - Range: 105-14

Schools changing class: Burden Central (2A), Burlingame (2A), Claflin-Central Plains (2A), Elbing-Berean Academy (2A), Greensburg-Kiowa County (2A), Hill City (2A), Jetmore-Hodgeman County (2A), Kinsley (2A), La Crosse (2A), Lincoln (2A), Little River (2A), Macksville (2A), Moundridge (2A), Olpe (2A), Oxford (2A)Salina-St. John’s Military Academy (2A), Sedan (2A), Solomon (2A), Spearville (2A), Udall (2A).