Ten El Dorado High School seniors, all Summa Cum Laude graduates, were Recently presented Myrrl Houck Memorial Scholarships.  The honorees were: Ricki Burks, Nicholas Heilman, Kaylah Jackson, Delaney Jones, Seth Klayson, Chloe Mahan, Siubhan Mora-Bruce, Mara Stewart, Luke Walker, and Hallie Yeubanks.   

    Students received awards amounting to $500 each, producing a total of $177,090 in scholarships which have been granted to 605 students since the Houck scholarship program started in 1960.

    EHS Counselor Gail McKenzie opened the evening with a tribute to the students, noting they had each one earned at least a 3.8 GPA in academically-challenging classes including four units of Honors English, Geometry, Advanced Algebra II, Trigonometry/Math Analysis, Science (3 credits that included Chemistry and Physics), and two years of the same foreign language.

    EHS Principal Kevin House congratulated the students and their parents, mentioning that they had taken “the road less traveled” in their educational pursuits, and wished them good luck in their future endeavors.

    On behalf of the Houck Scholarship Committee, Linda Call added her praise and presented highlights from Houck’s life, explained how the scholarships came about and how they are maintained, and introduced other members of the Myrrl Houck Committee who were in attendance:  Katie Banks-Todd, Rod Blackburn, Richard King, and Janice Shaffer.

    Call also presented certificates and letters of congratulations/instruction from Partners in Education.          

    One aspect of the event’s agenda was the opportunity to hear students’ future plans.  Burks, daughter of Dustin and Angela Burks—will attend the Nursing Program at Butler Community College (BCC), where she has already completed her Associate’s degree and where she will participate in the Two Plus Two Nursing Program at Butler (in conjunction with the University of Kansas); Heilman, son of Anthony and Danielle Heilman—Kansas State University (KSU), Chemical Engineering; Jackson, daughter of Charles and Rebekah Jackson—BCC, Pre-Pharmacy; 

    Jones, daughter of Ron and Mindy Jones—Wichita State University (WSU), Aerospace Engineering; Klayson, son of Steven and Samantha Klayson—University of Kansas (KU), Psychology; Mahan, daughter Eric McHatton and Leslie Mahan—Eric Fisher Academy, Esthetics; Mora-Bruce, daughter of Daniel Wilson and Heather Bruce—WSU, major is undecided; 

    Mara Stewart, daughter of David and Darla Stewart, BCC, Marketing; Walker, son of John and Sue Ellen Walker, WSU, Computer Science; Yeubanks, daughter of Keith and Cathy Yeubanks, BCC, Nursing.

    The Myrrl Houck Memorial Scholarship fund is a 501(c)3 organization. Managed by Partners in Education (PIE), all contributions are welcome and will help guarantee the future support of the Houck scholarship.  For more information, contact PIE (through El Dorado USD 490) at 322-4800.