The El Dorado Police Department was recently honored at a city commission meeting for earning a top traffic safety award from AAA Kansas.

El Dorado was one of two Butler County agencies to be named a Platinum AAA Community Safety Award winner earlier this year. The Andover Police Department was also awarded the top level award this year.

“Our police departments and sheriff’s offices in Kansas do an excellent job in keeping motorists, cyclists and pedestrians safe in their communities,” said Shawn Steward, Public Affairs Manager for AAA Kansas.

The Andover Police Department is one of six Kansas law enforcement agencies have earned a AAA Kansas Community Traffic Safety Award in each of the eight years the awards have been given.

AAA Community Traffic Safety Awards are presented to communities for their efforts to improve local traffic safety for all modes of travel. Award levels are Bronze, Silver, Gold and Platinum.

According to AAA, the AAA Community Traffic Safety Awards Program is not a competition; any community that completes the application and earns the required number of points will receive an award. Points are earned for having an active Traffic Safety Committee; participation in AAA Traffic Safety Programs, “Three E” programs and projects; and statistical measures of success.

According to AAA, the awards have been presented annually since 2011 to community law enforcement agencies for their efforts to successfully and cost-effectively improve local traffic safety. The agencies are scored and recognized for their efforts in multiple categories, including education, emergency medical response, enforcement and engineering.

To earn the award, communities should implement programs or projects designed to address local traffic safety issues for all modes of travel (e.g. motor vehicle, bicycle, pedestrian, child passenger safety, motorcycles, etc.) through the “Three E’s” of Education, Enforcement, and Engineering.

Earlier this year AAA Kansas announced 41 law enforcement agencies – comprising 30 police departments and 11 sheriff’s offices – throughout the state earned AAA Kansas Community Traffic Safety Awards for their 2018 work.