This week's school board meeting

The regularly scheduled meeting for El Dorado School District USD 490 provided an opportunity for Superintendent Sue Givens and Board members to recognize achievements of students who are performing at superior levels.
Kevin Monroe, orchestra instructor for El Dorado Middle and High School students reported on the Patriot League Music Festival. Several seventh and eighth grade band and orchestra students received I ratings at the Patriot League Music Festival on March 6. The orchestras performed at the USD 490 Performing Arts Center and the bands performed at Augusta Middle School. 7th grade violinists Jaeden Martin and Sean Kagle, both received I Ratings, were on hand at the School Board meeting.
Other students who received I Ratings (Outstanding), were:
• 7th/8th grade orchestra
• Cello/bass trio of Kayleigh Morris, Trista O'Connor, and Ashlynn Gomez
• Band Quartet of Jerica George (bass clarinet), Reagan Baumgartel (bass clarinet),
Pheydra Lynes (tenor saxophone, and Jillian George (bari saxophone)
• Band Quartet of Michael Riddle (alto saxophone), David Mitchell (alto saxophone),
Pheydra Lynes (tenor saxophone), and Jillian George (bari saxophone) • Drew Veatch (snare drum)
• Michael Riddle (alto saxophone)
• David Mitchell (alto saxophone)
Students receiving II Ratings (Excellent) were:
• 7th/8th grade band
• String Quartet of Lilly Rogers, Alexandria Dunn, Avery Ash, and Avery Parsley • String Quartet of Savannah Lunsford, Haylee Payton, Shayla Powell, and Gracie Gomez
Two highschool students were recognized for achieving an ACT Score of 30 or higher. Isabelle Haahr scored a 31 and Mahlon Hart scored a 30. Both students will have their names added to a plaque at the highschool honoring their success.
Kelly Ankrom, EHS Business & FACS & Health and DECA sponsor gave a report on DECA regional successes and Scott Vang, Activity/Athletic Director  rector gave updates on the district’s extracurricular programs.
Board Clerk Melissa Smith, reminded the Board of the positions coming up for election and the filing deadline. Of June 3rd. Those Board members who are up for reelection are Rob Lane, Tom Storrer, Norm Wilkes and Monty Hughey.
Superintendent Givens introduced Kathy Robertson as the new Executive Director of Fiscal and Support Services beginning July 1, 2019. Ms. Robertson is currently in her third year as superintendent of USD 298 in Lincoln, Kansas. Before taking on the role of superintendent, Robertson worked for three years as the Assistant Director of the ANW Special Education Cooperative. Prior to that she was an Interrelated Teacher for one year in Derby Middle School, a Principal at Pike Valley High School for three years, and an Interrelated Teacher in Valley Center High School for six years.
Robertson completed her Bachelor of Science in Secondary Education with an emphasis in Special Education from McPherson College in 2002. She earned her Master of Arts in School Administration from Baker University in 2007, and finished a District Licensure Program through Wichita State University in 2012. Her background in leadership, school operations, and working with a district budget will make her a great asset to the USD 490 team.
Board President Norm Wilks gave the Legislative Update and before adjourning Superintendent Sue Givens presented a resolution to accept a full price offer on the former Lincoln School Property. The Board approved the resolution to sell the property for $51,400.
Upcoming calendar items include:
• April 19 No School
• April 22 No School – Professional Development Day
• April 24 Administrative Professionals Day “do the work of the district” • April 29 Fifth Monday Board Meeting – Architect Presentations
• May 5-10 Teacher Appreciation Week.