Polls are expected to be busy

A record turnout is expected in the midterm elections today.  Hopes are high that young voters and those who don’t always vote, make it to the polls today.
The office of the Kansas Secretary of State reports that there are  171,000 registered voters are between the ages of 18 and 24.
The polls in Butler County will be open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. today.  
You will need to show photo identification when your arrive. Common forms of ID include a driver’s license, a U.S. passport, a concealed carry permit, or a student ID from an accredited post-secondary institution in Kansas.
For a full list of acceptable ID, go to: http://www.gotvoterid.com/valid-photo-ids.html#idlist
• Voters in El Dorado will be able to cast their ballot on extending the city's one-cent sales tax, which has generated an average of $2.46 million in local sales tax since 2012. Those funds represent approximately 18% of the City’s general operating budget. The General Fund is used to fund various public services such as, law enforcement, fire protection, park maintenance and operations.
• There are several contentious races in our state, with the big race for Kansas Governor.  Republican Secretary of State Kris Kobach won the GOP primary and he is facing Democrat Laura Kelly, independent Greg Orman, Libertarian Jeff Caldwell, and independent Rick Kloos.
U.S. House Fourth District: Incumbent Republican Ron Estes is being challenged by Democrat James Thompson.
Lt. Governor: Democrat Lynn Rogers, Republican Wink Hartman, Liberatarian Mary Gerit, independents John Doll and Nathaniel Kloos.
Kansas Secretary of State:  Democrat Brian “Bam” McClendon, Republican Scott Scwab, and Libertarian Rob Hodgkinson.
Attorney General of Kansas:  Incumbent Republican Derek Schmidt, Democrat Sarah Swain.
Kansas State Tresurer:  Incumbent Republican Jacob LaTurner and Democrat Marci Francisco.
Kansas Insurance Commissioner: Democrat Nathaniel McLaughlin and Republican Vicki Schmidt.
Kansas House Dist. 77: Incumbent Republican Kristey Williams.
Candidates facing retention or recall (yes/no votes):
Kansas Court of Appeals
Michael Buser

Kansas Court of Appeals
Melissa Standridge

Kansas Court of Appeals
Thomas E. Malone

Kansas Court of Appeals
Tony Powell

Kansas Court of Appeals
Kim R. Schroeder

Kansas Court of Appeals
Henry Green

Kansas Court of Appeals
Stephen Hill