Monday's Board of Education meeting

El Dorado USD 490 Board of Education approved hiring Samantha Morgan as a Family Liaison and Alternative Programs Coordinator during Monday night’s school board meeting.
Morgan will provide a conduit between home and school communication as well as help families connect with resources. Her office will be located at the new Extend campus, which is scheduled to open with the 2018-2019 school year. She will also serve as the coordinator for all district alternative programs.
Until the new campus opens, Morgan will work from the district office and will begin collaborating with counselors, alternative program staff, and administrators on the design toward a formal district social work support program.
“Samantha’s experience with connecting families to support services, as well as the fresh perspective and professional insight she brings to our district, mark a new chapter in our district goal of removing barriers to learning,” Superintendent Sue Givens said.  “Working in conjunction with existing programs such as Extend, EHS Virtual School, Jobs for Americas Graduates, and Communities in Schools, Samantha will be instrumental to the process of aligning district student support services.”
Morgan earned a Bachelor of Science in Social Work from Bethel College.  She worked as a licensed social work specialist for the Department of Children and Families for nearly 10 years before accepting this position with El Dorado public schools.
The BOE also approved the hiring of Scott Vang as the new District Activities/Athletic Director.
Vang, of Goddard, will begin his new duties on July 1, 2018.
As the new District Activities/Athletic Director, Vang will be responsible for coordinating all activity and athletic events at the middle and high school, including overseeing the coaches and activity sponsors.
“Scott was selected from a dynamic field of finalists, each of whom would bring unique qualities to this position,” Superintendent Givens said.  “However, Scott’s ability to build a strong extracurricular program based upon values, along with his energy, determination, and communication skills will bring new ideas and levels of expectations as well as support to our activity and athletic programs.”
Vang earned a Bachelor of Arts Degree from the University of Iowa and a second Bachelor of Science Degree from Newman University.  He earned a Masters in Education: Sports Administration at Wichita State University and a Masters in School Leadership Building Administration at Baker University.
Vang has had 26 years of coaching experience at the high school level.
A number of recognitions were made at Monday’s meeting:
Science Fair Champions  Charlie Grange, Co-Grand Champion and Earth Science Division Champion; Jackson Houseman and Quinn Houseman, Co-Grand Champion and Physical Science Division Champion; Erin Kistler, Regan Lattey, Meghan Ramsey, Biological Division Champion; Sophia Beggs and Addison Brockway, Mathematics Division Champion.
• EMS 7th Grade 1st Place Math Relay Team – Lexi Dunn, Jerica George, Jillian George, Abby Hutchins, Rylee Marnell-Ball, Gage Patty (also a first place overall medalist);
• Pioneer League Wrestling Champions – William Gomez, Gabriel Krug, Collin Scott
• 30 ACT Score – Siubhan Mora Bruce
• State Boys Swimming Team – Mason Paye, Garrett Motter, Andrew Tipton, Evan VanArsdale
• State Wrestling Team - Braden Morgan and Cameron Hunt - State Champions, Payton Sadowski - 5th. The team placed 5th as well. Others competing: Jaxson Roberts, Jackson Schell, Kaden Clites, Kai Wernli.
Braden Morgan was named Wrestler of the Year for AVCTL Division III. AVCTL Div III All- League Wrestling team: Payton Sadowski (1st Team), Jaxson Roberts (1st), Jackson Schell (1st), Braden Morgan (1st), Cameron Hunt (1st), Jake Knowles (HM), Kai Wernli (HM), and Kaden Clites (HM).
• State Bowling – Veronica Fisher and Forrest Parker
• State FCCLA – Chloe Hamilton, Genesis McFadden, Destiny Johnson
• State DECA – Marissa Eaton placed 4th and qualified for National DECA competition; students who placed in the top 10: Christian Price, Jarin Koehler, Charles Connell, Luke  Walker, Andrew Tipton, Channing Kimble, Erin Wranosky, Louie Tipton, Annalise Young; others competing: Chase Veatch, Brody Ryan, Jake Johnson, Garrett Meyer, Cody Wittenberg, Cameron Clausing.
• National Day of Action – Andrew Tipton, EHS Student Body President and Principal Kevin House shared that a speaker from KSDE will provide a presentation on promoting Civil Engagement during the April 20th National Day of Action and provide voter registration for eligible students.
• Construction Projects – Doug Jensen, Executive Director of Technology, provided an update on construction progress. Blackmore and Grandview elementary buildings are 75% complete. Ductwork is almost complete and HVAC should be running by end of the month.
• Facility Usage – Executive Director of Fiscal and Support Services Kellen Adams reviewed proposed changes to the Facility Usage Agreement, including the addition of lifeguard services, accessing the Performing Arts Center, as well as suggested usage fee increases.
Bus Bids
Bids were requested for purchase of a new activity bus, which is a planned capital outlay expenditure in the five-year plan. A recommendation was presented by Kellen Adams. Trent Schell, President of the El Dorado Sports Foundation shared that the Foundation is providing funding towards the graphics wrap and coach seats.
Monty Hughey made a motion to approve the bid of $131,093 from Kansas Truck for the purchase of a new 84 passenger bus as part of the five-year capital outlay plan. Norm Wilks seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.
 Revised 2017-18 Budget
Approval of the revised budget is required to access maximum state funding authority.
Norm Wilks made a motion to approve the revised 2017-18 budget as presented. Seconded by Sharon Waugh, the motion carried 7-0.