Election 2012

Election Day is over and the Sales Tax question for the residents of Augusta passed easily. Those in favor totaled 2,293 at 69.53 percent, and those opposed totaled 1,005 at 30.47 percent.

The residents of Douglass also approved a sales tax; yes votes - 347 at 63.44 %, and no votes - 200, 36.56 %.

Kansans voted to amend the state's constitution so the legislature could address the issue of high property taxes on watercraft. While the amendment doesn't directly change the classification or tax rate for watercraft, it is the first step in a process to reclassify watercraft and make their tax treatment more in line with surrounding states.

How Butler County voted

Romney and Ryan (REP) 17764

* Obama and Biden (DEM)7124

Johnson and Gray (LIB)447

Baldwin and Martin (REF) 117

U.S. Representative:

* Mike Pompeo (REP)


Robert Leon Tillman (DEM) 6,084

Thomas Jefferson (LIB) 1,498

State Senator 14th Dist.

* Forrest J. Knox (REP) 6,911

Eden Fuson (DEM) 3459

State Senator 16th Dist.

* Ty Masterson (REP) 1,2231

State Rep. 12th Dist.

* Virgil Peck (REP) 1,162

Tina Bumgarner (DEM) 610

State Rep. 75th Dist.

* Will Carpenter (REP) 5,210

Suzanne Scribner (DEM) 2763

State Rep. 77th Dist.

* J. David Crum (REP) 7,656

State Rep. 85th Dist.

* Steve Brunk (REP) 839

Barry Stanley (DEM) 247

Board of Education 10th Dist.

* Jim McNiece (REP) 11,866

District Court Judge

* Charles M. "Chuck" Hart (REP) 21,157

District Court Judge

* David A. Ricke (REP) 20,929

County Commissioner Dist. 2

* Peggy R. Palmer (REP) 4,091

County Commissioner Dist. 3

* Ed Myers (REP) 4,050

County Clerk

* Don Engels (REP) 21,302

County Treasurer

Ruth A. Fechter (REP) 21,161

County Register of Deeds

* Marcia McCoy (REP) 21,463

County Sheriff

* Kelly Herzet (REP) 21,470

County Attorney

* Darrin C. Devinney (REP) 20,847

Township Trustee

Augusta Township

* Nick W. McClure (REP) 472

Township Trustee

Benton Township

* Dick Dalton (REP) 896

Township Trustee Bloomington Township

* Francis W. Sowers, Jr. (REP) 168

Township Trustee

Bruno Township

* Kim Quastad (REP) 875

Township Trustee

Douglass Township

* Craig McClure (REP) 629

Township Trustee

El Dorado Township

* Dana McCoy (REP) 278

Township Trustee Fairview Township

* Cal Ammons (REP) 213

Township Trustee

Glencoe Township

* Rick Claycomb (DEM) 66

Township Trustee

Hickory Township

* Wayne Chambers (REP) 41

Township Trustee

Township Trustee

Little Walnut Township

* Gary Sphar (REP) 279

Township Trustee Pleasant Township

* Jack Armstrong (REP) 1,675

Township Trustee

Richland Township

* Linda Pray (REP) 709

* Craig M. Linot (DEM) 341

Township Trustee

Rock Creek Township

* Gary W. Gibson (REP) 92

Township Trustee Spring Township

* David Moss (REP) 393

* Kathy McDowell (DEM) 205

Township Trustee Sycamore Township

* Danny L. Girty (REP) 137 *

Township Trustee

Walnut Township

* John Christopher Danler (DEM) 215

Township Trustee Towanda Township

* David Wohlgemuth (REP) 983

Township Treasurer Augusta Township

* Connie Leigh Blake (REP) 325

Elmer J. Simon (DEM) 191

For a complete list of election results for Butler County Townships trustees and township treasurers, go to: http://www.bucoks.com/ and click on 2012 Butler County General Election results.