Annual New Teacher and School Bell Award Breakfast.

New teachers and staff at USD 490 and Butler Community College were welcomed to El Dorado Tuesday morning at the annual New Teacher and School Bell Award Breakfast.
Chamber of Commerce Board President Katie Runnion welcomed everyone to the event. After breakfast, the teachers were all introduced by local business men and women, then the School Bell Award nominees were announced.
“The nominees are made by students and parents,” said Superintendent Sue Givens. “The meaning behind these is so much richer because they come from the people we serve.”
The USD 490 nominees were: Rebecca Brown, who teaches family and consumer sciences at El Dorado High School and is in her 17th year teaching; Lindsay Cooper, who teaches physical education at El Dorado Middle School and is in her 10th year; Steve Fellers, an EHS science teacher beginning his 30th year; Dave Herrs, EHS math teacher beginning his 21st year; Julie Jones, EHS English teacher beginning her sixth year; Todd Miller, EHS science teacher in his 12th year; Bradley Raine, ESH social science teacher beginning his fourth year; and Rusty Williams, who teaches fifth grade at Skelly and is starting her ninth year.
The Butler nominees were: Jim Bucchorn, associate professor of English in his sixth year; Katherine GIfford, biology professor in her 21st year; Shellie Gutierrez, education professor in her 21st year; Velma Honer, reading professor in her eighth year; Kathy McCoskey, English professor in her 23rd year; Bob Peterson, theater and speech professor in his 33rd year; Leslie Pierson, foreign language associate professor in her third year; and Teresa Thompson, early childhood education professor in her 19th year.
The winner of the USD 490 School Bell Award was Brown, while Pierson received Butler’s award.
“Congratulations to all our nominees and teachers,” Runnion said. “I wish you a great school year.”

Julie Clements can be reached at