Five individuals recognized at Andover BOE meeting

Five people were recognized for excellence in teaching, academics and athletics at the June 9 Andover school board meeting. Family members of each of those honored were also at the meeting, and were all asked to stand and be recognized for their support.
Those recognized were:
• Joel Schaefer, Andover High School history teacher, was named Kansas History Teacher of the Year by the Gilder Lehrrman Institute of American History. This award goes to a teacher who demonstrates, among other qualities, a commitment to teaching American history and creativity and imagination in the classroom. As a part of this award, the Gilder Lehrman Institute will donate archival materials to the Andover High School library.
• Andover Central High School (ACHS) senior Colin Williams was recognized as one of this year’s National Merit $2500 Scholarship winners.  These designees were chosen from a talent pool of more than 15,000 outstanding finalists from across the country in the 2014 National Merit Scholarship Program. The winners are the finalists in each state judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills and potential for success in rigorous college studies.  Winners were selected by a committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors based on their academic record, including difficulty level of subjects studied and grades earned, scores from two standardized tests, contributions and leadership in school and community activities, an essay written by the finalist, and a recommendation written by a high school official.   
• ACHS senior Jameson O’Connor was recognized as the recipient of the Dale Dennis Excellence in Education Award sponsored by United School Administrators of Kansas. Recipients display commitment to community and school service and the citizenship, scholarship and common sense characteristics that make them quality individuals.
The Dale M. Dennis Excellence in Education Award was established in 1996 by Kansas school administrators to honor the long and valuable service that Deputy Commissioner of the Kansas State Department of Education Dale M. Dennis has provided to education in Kansas.   
• Jordan Birch, ACHS student, was recognized by the board for winning the state track 110 meter hurdle title.  His winning time was 15:09
• Jaylyn Agnew, Andover High School student, was honored for her state title in the high jump.  She had a winning jump of 5 ft. 4 inches.