Jake Luebbe shut out Derby for 7 1/3 innings to help El Dorado defeat the host Twins 6-2 Wednesday night.

Jake Luebbe shut out Derby for 7 1/3 innings to help El Dorado defeat the host Twins 6-2 Wednesday night.

The victory is the fifth in a row for El Dorado, marking the third-best start for the Broncos.

The 1992 Broncos won nine straight at the start of the season.

The 2010 and 1990 Broncos started 6-0, and the 2012 team started 5-0.

Luebbe allowed just four hits and struck out five.

El Dorado struck for three runs in the first. Thomas Clay beat out an infield roller, and Jose Rosado and Wade Stramp walked.

Danny Droll hit a grounder to third which Drew Luther bobbled, allowing Clay to score.

Clayton Taylor was hit by a pitch with the bases loaded, allowing Rosado to score.

Patrick Esposito singled in Stramp for the third run.

Taylor doubled to lead off the third and scored on Clay's bases-loaded walk.

Trever Ezell, who had walked, scored on John Coen's sacrifice fly.

In the seventh, Taylor singled and scored when Derby catcher Kaden Moore threw wildly to first.

Chayse Gulzow relieved Luebbe in the seventh with one out and the bases loaded.

He got Travis Garcia-Perriera to fly out to center with no advancement. Then, he struck out Shea Molitor for the third out.

Thursday’s scheduled home game against Wellington was cancelled due to the unsettled sod in left field with player safety in mind.

The Broncos go on the road this weekend for a three game series against the Hays Larks before returning home June 12 to host Wellington at McDonald Stadium at 7 p.m.

El Dorado 302 000 100 -- 6 7 0

Derby 000 000 020 -- 2 8 4

W -- Luebbe. L -- MacLean.

El Dorado batting: Clay 1-4, Coen 1-4, Rosado 1-4, Stramp 0-2, Droll 0-5, Taylor 2-4, Esposito 1-4, Ezell 0-4, Cox 1-4.

Derby batting: Ward 0-2, Steadman 1-1, Luthern 0-3, Gorski 1-1, Carabajal 0-4, Boston 2-4, Hessler 0-4, McMurray 0-3, Moore 2-2, Garcia-Perreria 1-3, Scott 1-1, Molitor 0-3.

El Dorado pitching: Luebbe 6 1/3, Gulzow 1 2/3, Smidt 1-0.

Derby pitching: MacLean 2-2, Warkins 2-1, Raeber 3 2/3-1, Westerhouse 1 1/3-0, Silva 1-0.