AHS seniors applauded for their academic achievements.

Tuesday evening was all about honoring the Augusta High School Class of 2013.

The event was held at the high school auditorium and the seniors were applauded for their academic achievements.

Local scholarships were awarded and the Kansas Scholars/Diploma of Distinction recipients were recognized.

The Kansas Scholars curriculum consists of: English - 4 years, Mathematics - 4 years, Science - 3 years, Social Studies - 3 years, Foreign Language - 2 years.

Designation is based on an index which mathematically combines the ACT Composite score and GPA.

The following Augusta High Seniors are Kansas Scholars:

Christina Ashenfelter, Madison Becker, Alyssa Bisagno, Nathanial Blank, Roy Chen, Taylor Childers, Olivia Cox, Clarie Daniels, Samuel Davis (Ks. State Scholar), Jacob Duncan, Caleb Dunn, Victoria Gilmore, Isaac Gonzalez, Brett Hamilton, Elizabeth Haury, Bailey Malm (Ks. State Scholar), Brianna Perry, Courtney Phillips, Sierra Ricker, Ashley Rieschick, Kalie Robinson, Rebekah Schaffer (Ks. State Scholar), Courtney Shipman, Eric Smith (Ks. State Scholar), Angela Thompson, Kesten Trebbe, Kayl Warne, Audrey Wendler, Colby Willis, Reese Willis, Chase Winter, Rebecca Winter.

Other scholarships awarded were:

Wheeler Friendship Grant - Joe Pherigo

Walter and Sidney Ewalt Scholarship - Joe Pherigo

John C. Hutter Scholarship - Madison Becker and Roy Chen

Armand Hillier Athletic Scholarship (Booster Club) - Madison Becker and Chase Winter

Jacque Hoefgen Cheerleading Scholarship - Jordan Spellman and Katie VanDever

May Gruver Scholarship - Rebecca Shaffer

PEO Scholarship - Katie VanDever and Alyssa Bisagno

Ron Baugher Memorial Scholarship - Chase Winter

Chelsea Gerbitz Memorial Scholarship - Brad Stevens, Samuel Wilson, Madison Becker, Chase Winter, Reese Willis

Cooper Drug Scholarship - Joe Pherigo

Chuck and Deann Korte Scholarship - Rebecca Winter

Lions Club Scholarship - Claire Daniels and Brayden Roberts

Laureate Beta Phi Scholarship - Bailey Malm and Claire Daniels

Mystic Tie Lodge #74 Scholarship - Jordan Spellman

Augusta White Eagle Credit Union - Samuel Davis

Kiwanis Club - Samuel Davis

Friends of Augusta - Claire Daniels and Chase Winter

Augusta Education Association (AEA) - Alyssa Bisagno, Brett Hamilton, Rebecca Shaffer, and Jordan Spellman

Vada-Vida Fletcher Business Scholarship - Olivia Cox

National Honor Society - Courtney Phillips, Katie VanDever, and Jacob Duncan

Student Council - Alyssa Bisagno and Olivia Cox

Lesley Tharp Spanish Club - Bailey Malm

Soroptimist International of Augusta - Alyssa Bisagno and Claire Daniels

AHS Soccer - Taylor Childers

Sally Annette (Souder) Puckett Memorial - Victoria Gilmore

(See more in the photo galleries)