The Butler Board of Trustees recognized several groups and individuals during their meeting Tuesday afternoon.

The Butler Board of Trustees recognized several groups and individuals during their meeting Tuesday afternoon.

“We have a number of great recognitions this afternoon,” said Butler President Jackie Vietti.

The first to be recognized was Huan Pham, who received a certificate acknowledging the receipt of an accommodation by a spring 2010 fundamentals of algebra student.

Also recognized were those involved with getting Butler recognized as a Military Friendly School for 2011. Those included Larry Addison, Tammy Baker, Sandy Bartlett, Kendall Bernstorf, Linda Billingsley, John Buaas, Mike Calvert, Leo Casado, John Cox, Jacquelyn Crutchley, Amy Cyphers, Dawn Danis Cheyanne Edgin, Ryan Entz, Tom Erwin, Katie Graves, Ramona Green, Michele Haidai, Kerry Hale, Steve Holman, Carol Hull, Carrie Humphries, Linda Jacobelli, Andy Jacques, Rob Kuhns, Glenn Lygrisse, Dee Mabe, Meg McGranaghan, Karen Shepard, Eddie Tejeda and Emily Ximinez.

They also recognized those who placed at the National Phi Beta Lambda Conference, including, Marie Schurter, third place in computer applications; Kayla Brown, fourth in client services; and Schurter and Becky Lutton, 10th place in desktop publishing. They also recognized the advisor, Janice Akao.

Another recognition given to Akao was for being selected as the 2010 treasurer of the Council for Workforce Education. In addition, Jim Edwards was named the 2010 president of the Kansas Council for Workforce Education.

Vietti went on to recognize Skyler Lovelace, who conducted a digital media faculty seminar.

“She reached out to and engaged adjunct faculty,” Vietti said.

Another recognition went to Stacy Cofer for her efforts in bringing the Welcome Center to fruition.

“There are so many people who’s handprints are on this magnificent facility that has the attention of all in the region,” Vietti said. “With all do gratitude to donors, we would not be here today if it was not for Stacy, who worked literally day and night. She has been so humble about the roll she has played.

“Because Stacy is such a work of art and an original, we have a work of art for Stacy.”

The next recognition went to Julie Smith, who received the 2010 Colleague to Colleague Outstanding Technical Support Award, a state-wide award.

Another award went to Glenn Lygrisse.

“Through the initiative of Glenn Lygrisse he created the opportunity for inmates at El Dorado Correctional Facility to exhibit their artwork in our gallery,” Vietti said.

Carol Hull and Randy Moss also were presented certificates for receiving a commendation by a student for assisting in getting books on time.

Next, Bill Rinkenbaugh and Mary Spoon were thanked for their efforts with the Kansas State High School Activities Association Cheer and Dance Conference.

Another commendation of Butler was received by Cal and Pam Ammons, the parents of a Butler student, thanking the staff for their help.

Portions of a student commendation of Butler nursing, admissions and registration was then read.

“That’s what we love to hear,” Vietti said.

The final recognitions were for September Great Grizzly Deeds. Those included Connie Belden, Stevie Blakely, John Buaas, Melissa Castle, Linda Clarke, Heidi Davison, Amber Espana, Carrie Flower, Dustin Martin, Debbie McAdam, Kay Metzinger, Bob Meyer, Shaunna Millar, Duana Monaghan, Sherri Morgan, Dan Muhwezi, Susan Pfeifer, Margaret Pickering, Lacey Prockish, Bethany Reilly, Debra Simpson, Reba Sumner, John Waren and Josh Williams.